MY S T O R Y – By Julie of Bongaree

By Julie of Bongaree

Array
(
    [top dis] => 
    [bottom dis] => 
)

Mine is a memory as a child having a family holiday in Caloundra where we spent most of our weekends. Days when my sister and me would go wandering to the beach on our own. God forbid no sunscreen for us – good old coconut oil and a beach towel sufficed. Down to Shelly Beach to collect cowries as they were the “jewel of the shells” or skip to Kings Beach to bake in the sun. If it was a special day we would see a shark hung up by the fishermen. It was just what was done back then.

Dad was a keen fisherman and we were known as ”The Fisher Girls”. Oh, we each had our own fibreglass rod with its Alvey reel. Very special. His first boat was a bond wood boat he built under our house. He was a joiner by trade and what a great boat with its Mercury motor. She was named “Wee-Ona”. I guess the name said it all for it was Dad’s pride and joy. We would go to the Jumpinpin, now I think it is called Sanctuary Cove near Hope Island. Finally, when our holiday house was built we would all go with dad to Golden Beach boat ramp at Caloundra.

Dad’s unique way of sizing fish

There were only the boat ramp and the one shop where dad would get his bait. Different bait to catch different fish depending on the season. Well my sister and me only knew it as the “lolly shop”. Our treat usually a rosy apple because it lasted longer at the end of a long day’s fishing in Pumicestone Passage. Our sandwiches, our rods and a bucket to pee in. Dad, mum, my sister and me and always an early start. I loved the wind and the salty spray in our little faces but not the boredom of waiting for the fish to bite. We never crossed the Caloundra bar as dad always told us it was too dangerous.

1964 in the Wee-Ona at Jumpinpin